Committee Assignments – 114th Congress


The House Committee on Ways and Means is the oldest committee in Congress and serves as the chief tax-writing committee of the House of Representatives. The Committee derives the largest share of its jurisdiction from Article I, Section VII of the U.S. Constitution, which declares that “all bills for raising revenue shall originate in the House of Representatives. In addition to all matters relating to taxation, the Ways and Means Committee has jurisdiction over tariffs, trade agreements, the bonded debt of the United States, and revenue-related aspects of the Social Security system, Medicare, and social services programs.

The Ways and Means Committee has six Subcommittees: Health, Human Resources, Social Security, Trade and Tax Policy. Congressman Marchant serves on the Health, Oversight, and Trade subcommittees.

The Subcommittee on Health has jurisdiction over bills and matters relating to programs which provide payments (from any source) for health care, health delivery systems, or health research.  More specifically, the jurisdiction of the Subcommittee on Health shall include bills and matters that relate to the health care programs of the Social Security Act (including titles V, XI (Part B), XVIII, and XIX thereof) and, concurrent with the full Committee, tax credit and deduction provisions of the Internal Revenue Code dealing with health insurance premiums and health care costs.

The Subcommittee on Oversight is charged with ensuring that existing tax provisions of the Internal Revenue Code are administered in accordance with the law. This subcommittee serves as the Ways and Means Committee’s investigatory body as part of its responsibility to oversee federal revenue collection.

Among other policy areas related to domestic and international commerce, the jurisdiction of the Subcommittee on Trade includes bills and matters referred to the Ways and Means Committee concerning customs and customs administration, tariffs, rules applying to imports and exports, and trade negotiations, agreements, and relations.



The jurisdiction of the House Committee on Ethics is derived from authority granted under the official rules of the U.S. House of Representatives and other federal statutes. The Committee has numerous functions that all center around upholding the standards of ethical conduct for members of the House and their staff. For a full description of the Committee’s jurisdiction and official responsibilities, please click here.

The House Committee on Ethics has no subcommittees and is the only committee in the House comprised of an equal number of representatives from each party.

The members that have been appointed to serve on the Ethics Committee during the 114th Congress are as follows:

Chairman: Charles W. Dent (PA-15)
Patrick Meehan (PA-07)
Trey Gowdy (SC-04)
Susan W. Brooks (IN-05)
Kenny Marchant (TX-24)
Ranking Member: Linda T. Sanchez (CA-38)
Michael E. Capuano (MA-07)
Yvette D. Clarke (NY-09)
Ted Deutch (FL-21)
John Larson (CT-01)